Wednesday, August 22, 2012

WICB announces West Indies Squad for ICC World T20

WICB announces West Indies Squad for ICC World T20
St John’s Antigua — The West Indies Cricket Board’s Selection Panel today named the West Indies 15-man squad for the International Cricket Council’s World T20 Tournament in Sri Lanka in September.

Darren Sammy (Captain)
Dwayne Bravo (Vice Captain)
Samuel Badree
Darren Bravo
Johnson Charles
Fidel Edwards
Chris Gayle
Kieron Pollard
Sunil Narine
Denesh Ramdin (Wicket-keeper)
Ravi Rampaul
Andre Russell
Marlon Samuels
Lendl Simmons
Dwayne Smith

The WICB Selection Panel has kept faith with the nucleus of the squad which defeated New Zealand in the recent Digicel Twenty20 Series in south Florida. Darren Bravo makes a return after missing the second half of the West Indies tour of England and the Digicel Series at home against New Zealand due to injury.

The squad boasts a number of the leading power-hitters in world as well as several world-class allrounders. The batting is led by Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard who are destructive in this format. Openers Lendl Simmons, Johnson Charles and Dwayne Smith have also done well for West Indies in the past at the top of the order.

The allrounders: Sammy, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell and Marlon Samuels, have all proven their quality with bat and ball in this format, while wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin brings a wealth of experience and know-how in this format.

The spin bowling department is led by Sunil Narine, who has excelled since his international debut last December. The other slow bowler is experienced leg-spinner Samuel Badree, who is the newest member of the squad, but has an excellent track record in this format at domestic level. He debuted against New Zealand in June.

The two main fast bowlers in the squad are the experienced Fidel Edwards, who offers firepower, and Ravi Rampaul, who can be called upon at any stage in the innings.

Fixtures for ICC World T20
Thursday, Sept 13: vs Sri Lanka - NCC, Colombo
Monday, Sept 17: vs Afghanistan - P Sara Oval, Colombo

Saturday, Sept 22: vs Australia - R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
Monday, Sept 24: vs Ireland - R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

Thursday, Sept 27: C1 v D2 - Pallekele
Thursday, Sept 27: A1 v B2 - Pallekele
Friday, Sept 28: D1 v C2 - Colombo
Friday, Sept 28: B1 v A2 - Colombo
Saturday, Sept 29: A1 v D2 - Pallekele
Saturday, Sept 29: C1 v B2 - Pallekele
Sunday Sept 30: B1 v C2 - Colombo
Sunday Sept 30: D1 v A2 - Colombo
Monday, Oct 1: B2 v D2 - Pallekele
Monday, Oct 1: A1 v C1 - Pallekele
Tuesday, Oct 2: B1 v D1 - Colombo
Tuesday, Oct 2: A2 v C2 - Colombo

Thursday, October 4: Super 8 Group 1-1 vs Super 8 Group 2-2 - R Premadasa Stadium
Friday, October 5: Super 8 Group 2-1 vs Super 8 Group 1-2 - R Premadasa Stadium

GRAND FINAL: Sunday, October 7 - R Premadasa Stadium

No comments:

Post a Comment